Eater Palace (食珍)

It’s gonna be mooncake time in less than a fortnight! Otherwise known as Mid-Autumn Festival. To be honest I’ve never been fond of mooncakes, and end up only eating the sweet bean paste or lotus seed fillings before discarding the crust. So gross, I know. I may as well buy a Kong Guan pau, since the latter costs like 5% the price of what most hotels sell their mooncakes for.

With yam mooncakes, however, it’s a different story. My love for yam probably stems from my Teochew background, and it is NO JOKE, I am telling you. I would totally marry a yam if I could – at least you know for sure you won’t go hungry.

Tucking away my man-repelling claws… I was window shopping at the Mooncake Fair at Ngee Ann City when I ran into these mooncakes. They may look a little vulgar (especially when photographed side-by-side. Wow the thumbnails on Google images are going to look horrifying) but I was sold the moment I sunk my teeth into a freshly-microwaved sample offered to me by the friendly aunty at the booth.

Yam Paste Mooncakes, $19.90 for two.

Just look at how flaky these babies are. The outer layers of pastry crumble and break away at the slightest touch,so you’ll want to be eating this with a plate underneath. The aunty cheerfully told me that the filling used at Eater Palace is less sweet than most other mooncakes, which is something I can attest to. Lightly infused with the aroma of fried shallots, the yam paste in these mooncakes is reminiscent of traditional orh nee sans coconut milk.

And they’re generous with the filling too!

But don’t go trumpeting these mooncakes as a healthier option just yet. I’d have to be seriously deluded if I were to think that there wasn’t lard involved in the process of creating this mooncake. Lard is an essential ingredient in preparing most Teochew pastries, and it gives the deep fried pastry crust a distinct fragrance and crispiness that’s hard to replicate with other types of oil. Even if there’s no lard, I’m sure there’s shortening involved la.

Nevertheless, since the sweet treats are meant to be a yearly indulgence and these ones from Eater Palace are totally worth the calories, I’m all for them. Just remember that mooncakes are meant for sharing, even if these ones are so yummy you start giving your family members the stink-eye. Which would defeat the purpose of celebrating Mid-Autumn Festival.

N.B.: Remember to heat the mooncakes up before consumption if you’ve refrigerated them!

Eater Palace (食珍)
Available annually at the Takashimaya Mooncake Fair held at the atrium (Basement 1) of Ngee Ann City.

Comments
One Response to “Eater Palace (食珍)”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] was where the absence of lard was keenly felt. It was devoid of the depth of flavour that the Eater Palace mooncakes possess, what with the latter’s shallot-y orh nee fillings. Crust-wise it […]



Leave a Reply

