Spathe Public House

If you’re like me, you’ll have no idea how to pronounce the name of this place. According to Google, it’s “spayth” – think “space” with a lisp.

Spathe Public House first made its blip in my food radar with its “Mammoth Signatures” concept. Who doesn’t love ordering plates of food twice the size of your head? Can’t deny that the idea is to share la, but it’s always open to you to knock your friends out.

Refurbished shophouse = yuppie magnet.

Located at the conflux of River Valley Road and Mohamed Sultan Road, Spathe Public House is a mere stone’s throw away from Robertson Quay, where Hummerstons is. I like it when my favourite restaurants clump together. It helps me narrow down potential real estate choices. Now if only I could afford to buy more than a couple of floor tiles.

Spathe Garlic Fries, $8++.

The garlic fries were served first, and right off the bat we knew this place was going to be a keeper. Freshly fried strips of potato infused with the smokey aroma of roasted garlic, and lightly dusted with paprika powder… mmm. These were ridiculously moreish, and I actually prefer them to the (usually poorly cooked) truffle fries that have suddenly become a thing in hipster restaurants these days.

Sous Vide Spanish Octopus Salad, $42++ for mammoth portion (feeds 4 to 6).

This was hands down my favorite dish of the evening. I don’t even like salad – I’ve never regarded them as proper food, they’re more of colon cleansers in my opinion. I was brought up to subscribe to the it’s-not-a-meal-unless-it’s-50%-carb school of thought. Sadly having to watch my waistline means I have to force them down my throat a few times a week… where was I?

The salad here at Spathe was nothing short of amazing. The octopus was perfectly grilled and pleasantly chewy. Citrusy notes from orange slices went well together with the tangy mustard vinaigrette dressing used, and both lifted the overall flavour of the salad without being overpowering. The menu tells me baby spinach is used as the salad base, which is puzzling because although I don’t claim to know my greens very well I’m quite sure the leaves in the picture above belong to a head of romaine lettuce. Mehh. It was delicious anyways.

That’s me! Just wanted to show how big the salad here was.

Poorly-lit mobile picture above included for scale, just so you don’t flip out at the idea of having to fork out $42++ for veggies. $42++ gives you a mammoth portion, which fed the 4 hungry girls in my party very well. Individual servings available at $22++.

Mohammed Sultan Meter Dog, $18++ for an individual portion.

As its name suggests, a metre-long version of this hotdog is available here at Spathe. THIS IS NOT A DREAM. Feel free to commence weeping.

Which is what I did when the waiter taking our orders suggested gently that we get the individual portion as we would have trouble finishing the mammoth-sized dog ($55++). “Is it really too much?” I asked in a tone bordering on wheedling. The waiter managed to convey polite revulsion and disapproval in a single expression, which is a skill to be admired.

If the individual portion’s anything to go by, I can say for sure that I’ll be back for the metre long version. The veal and chicken wurst encased in the buttered bun was incredibly juicy, fulfilling the basic requirement for any self-respecting dog. Drizzled with wasabi mayonnaise and specked with what appeared to be paprika powder as well (which is what I call any orange colored powder, by default), the lightly curried wurst was just a little spicy. I would have liked for the sweetness of the caramelized onions to be tamped down a little, though.

Spathe Australian Angus Burger, $22++.

Spathe also does a great burger. The handmade beef patty tasted fresh, tender and juicy. Together with a fried egg, red pepper chutney and a brioche bun, it was an exquisite combination. Cajun spiced fries served on the side were decent, but definitely paled in comparison with the addictive garlic fries we’d polished off at the start of the meal.

Lovely interior as well.

Spathe Public House serves delicious food at reasonable – well, as reasonable as hipster food prices get – prices, which makes it a winner in my book. Great venue for some catching up too. Service was excellent the evening we visited as well as the following day when we contacted them about a wrong item we had been billed for. I’m already planning to return for brunch.

Spathe Public House
8 Mohamed Sultan Road, #01-01
Singapore 238958

Opening hours: 11 am – 11 pm on Mondays to Fridays; 9 am – 11 pm on Saturdays; 9 am – 5 pm on Sundays.
Tel. no.: 67351035
Website: http://www.spathepublichouse.com/

Leave a Reply

