Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles

There’s something about getting your carb fix from chilli and lard-coated bak chor mee (lit. minced pork noodles) that just hits that spot for us Singaporeans. It’s one of those foods that’s appropriate for any time of the day, and I love that it’s so accessible – I can count 4 bak chor mee stalls within a 300 metre radius from where I live, two of which are open for business round the clock. It also helps that all of them do a pretty decent bowl of bak chor mee. In fact, I can’t remember when I last ate a bowl of bak chor mee that didn’t taste good.

I’d known before making my way down to Lavender that Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles was a popular bak chor mee stall, with some food bloggers going so far as to claim that it was the best bak chor mee stall in Singapore. I was all ready to give it the benefit of the doubt, seeing as how it was a family-run stall dating back to 1932. Despite the knowledge of all these facts its snaking queue on a Wednesday evening managed to surprise me anyway, and contributed to the already high expectations that I’d had of the noodles here.

Bak chor mee, comes in $5, $6, $8 or $10 portions. This was the $8 one.

Um sadly. Wasn’t impressed.

I kind of get why Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles has its loyal following. The gravy here has a much higher ratio of vinegar than most bak chor mees do, which I suppose goes down well with those who like their noodles with an acidic kick. The fragrant and crisp pieces of ti por or fried solefish provided a nice crunch that provided a pleasant contrast with the springy mee kia (thin noodles), and the pork used here in all its forms – minced, sliced, livers and balls – is fresh, chewy and of good quality. Oh, the one thing that I liked about the bak chor mee here was the broth that came with it. I could literally see a meat cloud in it, which was a precursor to how intensely meaty and flavorful it tasted.

The picture above makes it look like they’re generous with their ingredients, but don’t forget that $8 can easily buy you two bowls of bak chor mee at your average hawker stall, with change to spare for a drink. Those won’t come with wan tan (meat dumplings) or ti por, though.

There were even more people queuing behind us.

I’m going to go all out blasphemous and say that I don’t get the hype about the bak chor mee here. At all. This was okay bak chor mee, yes – but to call it the best bak chor mee in Singapore when I can’t even decide if I prefer it to the ones sold by the hawkers in my neighbourhood? Nahhh, I’ll take convenience any day.

Just a note of caution if you’re thinking of heading here for bak chor mee: They’re supposed to close at 9 pm, but their actual closing time is when they run out of ingredients for the day, which, on the day I visited, was 7.30 pm.

Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodle
Block 466 Crawford Lane
#01-12
Singapore 190465

Opening hours: 9.30 am – 9 pm daily, closed on every 1st and 3rd Mondays of the month.
Tel. no.: 6292 7477
Website: http://www.taihwa.com.sg

Comments
2 Responses to “Hill Street Tai Hwa Pork Noodles”
  1. Sook says:

    I agree with you completely on the broth. sometimes i order mee sua soup at Tai Hwa – which i know is not the point but man they make a really mean soup!

Leave a Reply

